Update regarding entry to Israel – November 28th, 2021

Media Centre

Update regarding entry to Israel – November 28th, 2021

28 November 2021

Dear Clients and Colleagues,

In accordance with the Israeli government’s latest decision, all non-Israeli citizens are restricted from entering Israel, except in exceptional humanitarian cases which require the prior approval of a special committee of the Ministry of the Interior.

Foreign experts holding a valid B-1 Visa (permitting continued entry/exit) stamped in their passport may still enter Israel, subject to such visa holders completing the required entry form and obtaining approval by the Ministry of the Interior to enter Israel.

Arrivals who are either designated as “vaccinated” or “recovering” according to the procedures of the Ministry of Health, who enter Israel from countries not on the “red-list”, will be required to perform a PCR test upon landing in Israel, following which they will enter into three days of home isolation, and will then be released subject to performing a second PCR test which returns a negative result. Arrivals who fail to perform the second PCR test will be required to isolate for 14 days from the date of arrival.

All arrivals from countries on the “red-list” will perform a PCR test upon landing in Israel, following which they will be required to isolate at a government-designated Covid-19 hotel until the PCR test result is returned. Upon receiving a negative result, such persons will be allowed to transfer to home isolation, and shall perform an additional PCR test on the seventh day of isolation. Subject to a negative result from the third PCR test, such persons will be released from isolation. Foreign experts are not permitted to enter Israel from any “red-list” countries. Any arrival from a ‘red-list” country who returns a positive PCR test whilst at a Covid-19 hotel will be required to remain at the facility for the duration of their isolation as required by the guidelines.

Please see below a list of the 50 countries that were classified as red:

Angola, Uganda, Seychelles, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Eswatini, Botswana, Burundi, Burkina Faso, building, Ghana, Gabon, Djibouti, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Equatorial Guinea, Gambia, South Africa, South Sudan, The Democratic Republic of Congo, Central African Republic, Republic of the Congo (Congo Brazzaville), Zimbabwe, Zambia, Ivory Coast, Togo, Tanzania, Cape Verde, Liberia, Mauritania, Mauritius, Mali, Madagascar, Mozambique, Malawi, Lesotho, Nigeria, Niger, Namibia, Sao Tome and Principe, Somalia, Senegal, Sierra Leone, St. Helena (UK), Chad, Comoros, Kenya, Republic of Cameroon, Reunion (France) and Rwanda.

Israeli citizens are not permitted to travel from Israel to any “red-list” country, subject to the following exceptions:

  • Exit to a permanent place of residence in a “red-list country, subject to presenting a valid reference which is accepted by the special committee.
  • In exceptional humanitarian or other vital cases, subject to the prior approval of the Exceptions Committee.
  • Foreign representatives or Israeli emissaries.
  • Aircraft crew.
  • Professional athletes, subject to the prior approval of the special committee.
  • A person who exists in relation to a special need concerning foreign relations or national security.
  • An official envoy of one of Israel’s national institutions, subject to the prior approval of the special committee.
  • Journalists in the performance of their duties.


Passengers who depart, or attempt to depart, to any “red-list” country in violation of regulations, will attract an administrative fine of NIS 5,000.

The above regulation will be in effect for 14 days starting from tonight (November 28th 2021) 00:00. Changes to the above regulations may occur.

We will continue to provide you with updates of any developments.

 The Labour and Employment Department
Herzog, Fox & Neeman

Search by +